Business Lesson 25 Essay

I have been asked to give a one paragraph answer to three questions about my future:

What would I be willing to settle for one year from now?

A drivers license, two more semesters at Faulkner of all A’s, a high school diploma, and the Cooking, Citizenship in the Nation, and Family Life merit badges.

What would I be willing to settle for on my eighteenth birthday?

80% of my degree, a car, the rank of Eagle, and a part-time/apprentice job in software developing OR a working project online.

What would I be willing to settle for at age 25?

A full-time job in software developing OR a fully-fledged, profitable project, being financially independent, a house.

Now I have been asked to answer this: How can the strategy of going the extra mile help me to achieve these goals?

The strategy of the extra mile is rather simple: do more than is required of you. This can be as simple as sharpening a pencil when you are asked for one, or as complex as adding on extra features to a submission. If I go the extra mile on driving… um… I would feel more comfortable on the road, and I could get my license sooner, which would help me get to where I need to go. If I go the extra mile at Faulkner, and do my best, not only may I get a 4.0 GPA, but I could get letters of recommendation from my teachers. If I go the extra mile in Scouts, and keep working after the rank of Eagle, I can earn gold and silver palms to pin on my badge. All of these things would look good on a resume. If I go the extra mile in a job as an employee, and make myself valuable to my employer, I could get a promotion. And perhaps more importantly, I will be one of the last people to get fired/replaced if heavy competition ensues. If I go the extra mile on a project/business online, then the value of my product will go up, and I will get more sales, which will further increase my capital, and the process of compound growth will be on my side. Having money from all these things will allow me to be financially independent. And that is how going the extra mile can help me to achieve my goals.

One thought on “Business Lesson 25 Essay

  1. Very interesting. Opa tried to post his evaluation, but was not allowed. I do not like the “that” in the last sentence. Vague reference, no specific noun antecedent. Do you think you will graduate in 2020? You did not take the PSAT this year, did you? Ask your dad.

    Like

Leave a comment